Crazy, but here goes

This is probably crazy, but here goes. This is my first blog. Friends have encouraged me to do this and I am reluctantly following their lead. I feel more like a person stuck in quicksand that is slowly dragging me in. (So does that make it slowsand?)

Regardless, I am here. For those who might not know me, I am a former youth pastor, school teacher, playwright, director, youth home houseparent, cab driver, computer operator (back in the ’60s with the truly “big machines”), dishwasher, suburban pastor, and I’m sure a few more.  Presently, I pastor a small country church in rural west central Missouri.

The love of my life is my wife Linda (right behind Jesus). We met in college at NIU and went out on a date in spite of Linda’s previous rejections. (Long story that my wife hates hearing rehashed.) We are about to celebrate 35 years of marriage. A true testimony to her patience with and love for me.

God has blessed us with two great daughters of whom I could hardly be any prouder. They are great young women and a blessing to whomever they employs them or associates with them. My son-in-laws are two of the most blessed men on earth. I hope they realize it quicker than I did with Linda.

I know I should love to read theology or the current edgy stuff on Christianity. But I confess that I enjoy reading mysteries, old westerns like Louis L’Amour novels, and new westerns like the Tony Hillerman series. One of my current favorites is the Bug Man series by Tim Downs. Great stuff, though gets a little grisly. (The hero is a forensic entymologist who solves crimes based on the maggots found on a dead body.)

I love to work with young men who want to connect with God. Some of my best friendships have come from this time of coaching/mentoring. I have been most blessed by the things I’ve learned in the process–things about myself, God, successful living, etc. Somehow, I gain so much more and come across with more as a result of being engaged and challenged as these men have worked through life issues.

This is probably enough for one entry. We’ll see how often I will check in here. May God use this for all of us.

This entry was posted in Just Personal. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Crazy, but here goes

  1. Lori Morrow (Provo) says:

    Good to hear you are doing well. I am doing good. You are a womderful pastor. I know Missouri is being blessed. The skills you taught me about reading and understanding God’s word I still use today. I’m glad you are posting your scripts on-line. Maybe I can get the drama team at my church to perform one. While I have attended there, we haven’t done a spiritually moving full length adult drama. Tell Linda and the girls I said Hi.
    Lori

    • Christopher Barnes says:

      Thanks for checking in here. I think you’re the first to find this. I’m still working to get scripts online. I am finding out that we don’t have too many of our scripts in electronic format. Something about creating them in obsolete formats. 🙂

  2. hope says:

    I love you dad. I could hardly be prouder of you. I think that this is a good idea. Although, I really think you have a book in you somewhere. Your writing is interesting and grammatically correct. Happy Father’s day.

Leave a Reply

