To my conservative friends, brothers and sisters,

(I don’t want to engage in a debate, just offer some of my opinions for your consideration…)

There is no end of analysis that has been going on, so why do I feel compelled to add my voice to the fray? From various folks I have heard some pretty strong feelings of dismay, disgust, anger, and fear (just to name a few reactions) over the outcome of Tuesday’s election and some very hostile feelings toward those who voted to re-elect President Obama. Many of the reactions have been based on a presumption of why people voted for him and not Romney. Since I am very concerned for the spread of God’s Kingdom, our witness for Jesus Christ and the cause of Christ’s love in a sinful world, I wanted to speak to some of the issues people have shared with me.
Don’t presume that those who voted for Obama can all be lumped in one camp. The presumption of many is that our country has now shifted from a country of Makers to a country of Takers. While this probably sums up a good proportion of people who voted for the Democrat party, there are other reasons why good people ended up voting against the Republican candidate:
  • Fear regarding the economy and a desire to make sure that the safety net will continue to be there if they lose their present job.
  • Unwillingness to put a Mormon in the White House.
  • Naively, they perceived the slight improvement in job numbers as a possibility that the economy is indeed finally turning around. Therefore, they do not want to change parties and jeopardize this improvement.
  • They bought the lies about the Republican party policies being intended to benefit the rich and not the rest of the country. And the portrayal of the Democratic party as the one that has compassion on the poor.
  • They failed to understand the immorality of the redistribution of wealth — taking money from those who have worked hard all of their lives to get where they got to give it to people unwilling to work hard and take the same risks. We have totally lost an understanding of the Protestant Work Ethic and the creation of wealth through hard work and creativity.
  • Bought the propaganda that homosexuality is a civil rights issue: homosexuals are made that way and should not be discriminated against. Same sex marriage is only fair.
  • Ignorance — it is amazing how many people are clueless about such issues as Benghazi, Fast and Furious, the presidential misuse of executive orders to legalize things like the Dream Act by presidential fiat, etc. In this category would go the abject failure of the Press functioning as the Watchdog, regardless of who is president.
You add up a couple of percentage points here and there with these motives as their personal tipping point and add that to those who want the government to continue to grow and give to them, and you have a majority. I do not believe that a majority of the country are takers or moochers as some call them. Others, a significant amount in key states, voted to legalize their immorality in such areas as legalizing marijuana or legitimizing same-sex marriage. Those people could be expected to vote Democratic, since that party’s platform supports these issues.
In addition, 3 million fewer Republicans voted in this election than voted for McCain! If they had shown up and voted for Romney, he would have won the popular vote and maybe the Electoral College. Where were they and why did they not vote? I heard numerous callers call in to the talk shows and say that they refused to vote for Romney because they would no longer vote for a Moderate Republican no matter who the other candidate was. Doesn’t that raise your hackles?!

Finally, millions of American suffer from what I call the “teenage boy syndrome.” despite the evidence to the contrary, these people believe that nothing bad can happen to them no matter how risky their behavior is. Somehow debt will never have to be repaid, immorality will not have consequences, Social Security, Medicare and Medicaid will never go bankrupt, and someone will bail us out when things get really bad.
Many are dismayed because the outcome of this election will further increase the speed of our nation’s decline morally. I have some very important things for us to think about. (By the way, this has been a big concern of mine also, and I vote as I do in hopes that legal and governmental things might help keep our country on track.) Look around us, marriage has not been considered sacred by millions of heterosexuals, millions of evangelicals and born again Christians for a long, long time. The issue here is not laws, but the Lordship of Christ. This is true in the area of abortion, pot smoking, compassion for the poor, etc.
Our country’s moral future will depend, not on government, but on true deep revival. As each person comes to Christ for real, this person becomes a new creation and begins to live in submission to God’s will and good design. That’s what has happened to me and millions of others. I did not need an act of congress to change my behavior. I did not need a party platform to teach me to work hard instead of to party hearty. God’s Spirit convicted me and enabled me to become a different person.
Our hope for the future lies in God and in His church. A friend reminded me of Jeremiah’s words as he contemplated all the suffering he had experienced in his years of prophetic ministry up to and during the calamitous destruction of Jerusalem and the exile of most of the Jewish people to Babylon.  He said in Lamentations 3:21-26,

 

21 But this I call to mind,
and therefore I have hope:
22  The steadfast love of the LORD never ceases;
His mercies never come to an end;
23  they are new every morning;
great is Your faithfulness.
24  “The LORD is my portion,” says my soul,
“therefore I will hope in Him.”
25  The LORD is good to those who wait for Him,
to the soul who seeks Him.
26  It is good that one should wait quietly
for the salvation of the LORD.

I also benefited from this blog he sent me, thought I would not choose to use such strong language:

How I Absorbed Three Punches and Got Up Anyway

I hope some of the things I have shared are helpful. I learned long ago not to try to judge the motives of others. My own motives are so often mixed that I cannot pretend to judge those of others. Let us not assume we know the motives of the just over 50% who voted for Barak Obama. Let’s also not despair of hope. Our hope is in the Lord. As the blog above shares — hardship purifies the church and is often a catalyst for revival.

God’s best, Christopher

This entry was posted in News. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

